03/04 Lusher

Registered Teams (V/JV): (11/0)

  • Academy of the Sacred Heart (1/0)
  • De La Salle (1/0)
  • Dutchtown (1/0)
  • Itawamba (2/0)
  • Lusher (1/0)
  • Haynes (1/0)
  • Strake Jesuit (2/0)
  • Vandebilt (1/0)
  • West Jones (1/0)

On March 4, 2017 Lusher Charter School (5624 Freret St, New Orleans, LA 70115) in New Orleans will host a spring invitational quiz bowl event at its uptown campus. The tournament will include a morning round robin to determine seeding, and an afternoon round robin based upon those seeds.Trophies will be awarded to the top three teams and there is a possibility of a separate JV bracket if there is interest.

This tournament will use questions from NAQT IS-164. A sample packet similar to those that will be used at this event is available. The entry fee for this tournament is $60 per team with a $10 discount available for bringing a fully functional buzzer lockout system. Multiple teams from a single school may compete.

Tournament Directors will be Lusher coaches Rachel Patton and Jay Mersch. Please email Coach Rachel Patton to register or if you have any questions. Please forward this announcement to any coaches you

Quiz Bowl is an academics-based game in which two teams of four students compete to answer questions about math, science, history, literature, religion, and arts. Students buzz in to answer tossup questions and correct tossup responses are rewarded with an opportunity to answer 3 bonus questions that cannot be stolen by the opposing team. The team with the most points after 20 tossup-bonus pairs is the winner.

The Louisiana Quiz Bowl Alliance is a coalition of quiz bowl players, coaches, and professionals dedicated to helping Louisiana’s secondary schools successfully compete with the best academic teams in the nation. The Louisiana Quiz Bowl Alliances includes the quiz bowl programs of Louisiana State University, Louisiana Tech University, Tulane University, and the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. LQBA has been hosting top quality academic tournaments since 2013.