09/30 French Quarter Kickoff

A current list of teams registered for this event can be found at this link. 


Louisiana Quiz Bowl is proud to announce the French Quarter Kickoff, a quiz bowl tournament for high school teams on September 30, 2017 at Xavier University of Louisiana.

This tournament will include both Varsity and Junior Varsity divisions.  Each team will play at least six matches on a nationally standard 20/20 tossup-bonus format. Full statistical reports will be prepared after the tournament. An example statistical report is available here.  Plaques will be presented to the top 4 teams and the top performing small schools in each division.

The entry fee for this tournament is $90 per team with a $10 discount available for bringing a fully functional buzzer lockout system. One junior varsity team per school may play at this tournament for FREE. Multiple teams from a single school may compete. Checks should be made payable to “Louisiana Quiz Bowl Alliance.”

In order to register for this event, please do so via this link on the NAQT web page. If you have questions, email tournament director Kevin Marshall.

Quiz Bowl is an academics-based game in which two teams of four students compete to answer questions about math, science, history, literature, religion, and arts. Students buzz in to answer tossup questions and correct tossup responses are rewarded with an opportunity to answer 3 bonus questions that cannot be stolen by the opposing team. The team with the most points after 20 tossup-bonus pairs is the winner.

The Louisiana Quiz Bowl Alliance is a coalition of quiz bowl players, coaches, and professionals dedicated to helping Louisiana’s secondary schools successfully compete with the best academic teams in the nation. Louisiana Quiz Bowl includes the quiz bowl programs of Louisiana State University, Louisiana Tech University, Tulane University, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and Xavier University of Louisiana. Louisiana Quiz Bowl has been hosting top quality academic tournaments since 2013.